Users will only be able to call and message someone if they are contacted first and click on a notification.
After a few more weeks, said users will lose the audio and video call feature, including the notification, WhatsApp said. The company added that the timing will vary from user to user.
WhatsApp later explained that the updated terms only apply to correspondence with business accounts, enabling businesses to link up with Facebook’s platform more easily .
A company spokesperson confirmed that WhatsApp would not delete the accounts of users who refuses to accept the new policy, neither would WhatsApp limit functionality immediately on May 15, when the new policy comes into force.
The spokesperson noted that users would lose functionality over the next few weeks.
“We’ll continue to provide reminders to those users within WhatsApp in the weeks to come,” the spokesperson said.
Whatsapp said in an FAQ that the “policy update does not affect the privacy of your messages with friends or family in any way.”
Signal had a download increase of 4,200% the week after WhatsApp made the first notification about the changes.